Two Wildcat Volleyball Players Earn NSIC All-Conference Honors

Two Wildcat Volleyball Players Earn NSIC All-Conference Honors
Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics

WAYNE – With the regular season NSIC volleyball schedule coming to a close this weekend, a senior and redshirt freshman from #22 Wayne State College has been named to the All-Conference Team.

The announcement came in a release from the league office in Burnsville, Minnesota Thursday afternoon.

Wildcat senior right-side hitter Erin Gross (Tekamah-Herman HS) received First Team honors while redshirt freshman middle hitter Jaci Brahmer (Pierce HS) was named to the NSIC Second Team All-Conference.

This marked the second straight season Gross has been an All-Conference selection after receiving Second Team last year. During her senior campaign, Gross leads the Wildcats in kills per set at 3.14 and is averaging 3.21 kills per set in NSIC contests. She has 17 matches with 10 or more kills including 11 against NSIC teams while also ranking second on the team in blocks this season with 82.

Following a redshirt year, Brahmer is averaging 2.49 kills and a team-high 1.06 blocks per set. She is tied for third in the NSIC in blocks per set and leads the Wildcats with a .326 attack percentage.

Other All-Conference Awards went to:

NSIC Player of the Year: junior outside hitter Taylor Reiss from Southwest Minnesota State

NSIC Libero of the Year: senior Tahlyr Banks from Augustana University

NSIC Freshman of the Year: right-side hitter Laura Snyder of Northern State University

NSIC Coach of the year: Brady Starkey (15th season) with Concordia-St. Paul

#22 Wayne State College is 18-10 overall, 11-7 NSIC and will host St. Cloud State on Friday, November 10 at 6 p.m. as #6 Minnesota Duluth will be in town on Saturday, November 11 at 4 p.m.

NSIC First Team All-Conference
# Name School Pos Yr Hometown
7 Tahlyr Banks AUGIE L Sr. Omaha, Neb.
3 Brooklyn Lewis CSP RS Jr. Kasson, Minn.
13 Elizabeth Mohr CSP S Jr. Eden Prairie, Minn.
8 Mariya Sampson CSP OH Sr. Brooklyn Park, Minn.
4 Shelby Seurer CSP MB Sr. Delano, Minn.
9 Sarah Kelly UMD RS Jr. Chaska, Minn.
13 Allison Olley UMD MB Sr. Racine, Wis.
21 Hailey Busch NSU OH Jr. Kasson, Minn.
12 Jenna Rieff NSU MB So. Chester, S.D.
8 Ashley Rozell NSU S So. Warner, S.D.
10 Laura Snyder NSU RS Fr. Ham Lake, Minn.
9 Brooke Borchardt SMSU MH Sr. Zimmerman, Minn.
8 Kaylee Burmeister SMSU OH Jr. Lakefield, Minn.
6 Megan Larson SMSU S Sr. Minneota, Minn.
1 Taylor Riess SMSU OH Jr. Taunton, Minn.
14 Erin Gross WSC RS Sr. Tekamah, Neb.
8 McKenna Larsen WSU S Sr. Oconto Falls, Wis.
12 Danielle Rampart WSU OH Sr. Trevor, Wis.
NSIC Second Team All-Conference
# Name School Pos Yr Hometown
3 Courtney Place AUGIE OH Jr. Okabena, Minn.
10 Ashley Wilson AUGIE MH Sr. Sioux Falls, S.D.
2 Hope Schiller CSP OH Jr. Anoka, Minn.
20 Lauren Randall UMary OH Sr. Burnsville, Minn.
11 Kassi Green UMC OH Sr. Anoka, Minn.
3 Kate Berg UMD OH Fr. Medina, Minn.
8 Makenzie Morgen UMD OH Jr. Appleton, Wis.
4 Emily Torve UMD S So. Loretto, Minn.
11 Lexi Scott USF MB Jr. Prinsburg, Minn.
8 Makenna Rockeman USF OH Jr. Broomfield, Colo.
11 Sarina Smith SMSU MH Fr. Andover, Minn.
15 Clara Krenz SCSU L So. North St. Paul, Minn.
20 Anna Winter UIU OH So. Rochester, Minn.
7 Jaci Brahmer WSC MH Fr. Pierce, Neb.
5 Maria Wrage WSU MB Jr. Dysart, Iowa


We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.