NCN-Area Athletes Showcased at Shrine Soccer Classic

NCN-Area Athletes Showcased at Shrine Soccer Classic
Columbus Scotus' Evan Chohon and Emma Strecker will play in the 24th Annual Shrine Soccer Classic on Sunday.

OMAHA – The state’s top soccer talent was on display in Omaha on Sunday with several NCN Area athletes being showcased.

The 24th Nebraska Shrine Soccer Classic was held at Morrison Stadium highlighting high school seniors that were nominated by their coaches based on on-field skills and performance, performance in the classroom and involvement in the community and overall citizenship.

The Grand Island Area was represented by Justin Oregon (Grand Island-North Team), Jon Erickson (Kearney-North Team), Melissa Contreras (Grand Island-North Team), Bailey Richman (Hasting-North Team), and Kassidy Messersmith (Kearney Catholic-North Team).

Northeast Nebraska had three players in action including Christian Prim (Lutheran High/Norfolk Catholic-North Team), Dylan Cattau (Lutheran High/Norfolk Catholic-North Team), and Armando Garcia (South Sioux City-North Team).

Evan Chohon ( Columbus Scotus) and Emma Strecker (Columbus Scotus) played for the Columbus Area.

Two Beatrice products represented Southeast Nebraska in Tyler Boller (Beatrice), and Kennedy Vater (Beatrice).


North team

Evan Chohon, Columbus Scotus; Justin Oregon, Grand Island; Isaac Cruz, Omaha South; Tyler Boller, Beatrice; Jackson Ferris, Omaha Central; Ben Luci, Lincoln East; Ed Gordon, Creighton Prep; Hunter Kruse, Omaha Westside; Diego Gutierrez, Ralston; Sean Toohey, Creighton Prep; Jackson Burmeister, Gretna; Israel Cruz, Omaha South; Brendon Boatwright, Papillion-La Vista; Erik Fahner, Millard West; AJ Stacy, Lincoln Pius X; Nolan Dillon, Fremont; Ben Schulz, Millard North; Noah Hoefer, Bellevue East; Jack Finochiaro, Omaha Westside; Jon Erickson, Kearney.

Coaches: Davis Fisch, Gretna; Jeff Hoham, Lincoln East.

South team

Zach Robbins, Omaha Burke; Ricky Reyes, Omaha Burke; Hunter Albers, Elkhorn South; Erik Sandnes, Elkhorn South; Varun Sharma, Elkhorn South; Jonathan Lopez, Millard South; Ryan Letourneau, North Platte; Jake Anderson, Scottsbluff; Eh Doh Soe, Omaha Benson; Sebastian Espinoza, Elkhorn; Kevin Toldeo, Lexington; Trevor Yanovich, Omaha Gross; Jack Thoma, Omaha Skutt; Henry Schmidt, Lincoln Lutheran; Josue Fernandez, Holdrege; Abram Ehrhorn, Papillion-La Vista South; Armando Garcia, South Sioux City; Christian Prim, Lutheran High/Norfolk Catholic; Cole Frahm, Omaha Burke; Dylan Cattau, Lutheran High/Norfolk Catholic.

Coaches: Nicholas Bratt, Omaha Burke; Adam Hooi, Elkhorn South.


North team

Hannah Bowes, Omaha Westside; Christian Baxter, Bellevue West; Emily Torres, Omaha Westside; Bailey Richman, Hastings; Lindsey Lock, Blair; Courtney Wallingford, Bellevue West; Bailey Cascio, Millard North; Ava Blessie, Omaha Mercy; Morgan Daffer, Gretna; Sidney Sheard, Papillion-La Vista; Emma Strecker, Columbus Scotus; Melissa Contreras, Grand Island; Kennedy Vater, Beatrice; Kenzie Harte, Millard North; Alexandra Mausbach, Omaha Roncalli; Kassidy Messersmith, Kearney Catholic; Carolyn Hopkins, Lincoln East; Mallory Broady, Millard West; Emma Nelson, Omaha Marian; Megan Hellem, Lincoln Pius X.

Coaches: Gauthier Schlerizin, Bellevue West; Nathan Moseley, Omaha Westside; James Abueg, Millard North.

South team

Gema Ramirez, Omaha Bryan; Bailey Kaufman, Lincoln Southwest; Madi McKeever, Omaha Skutt; Jessica Schlautman, Omaha Skutt; Courtney Doeschot, Millard South; Jenna Callies, Norfolk; Ellie Gess, Papillion-La Vista South; Paige Huscroft, Millard South; Karsin Underwood, Lincoln Southeast; Brianna Jennings, Omaha Northwest; Adriana Lisak, Lincoln North Star; Jess Childers, Elkhorn; Betsy Tomas, Omaha South; Hannah Davis, Lincoln Southwest; Bailey Lagasse, Platteview; Joy Bianco, Elkhorn South; Ixchel Alvarado, Omaha Bryan; Alex Kuzma, Lincoln Southeast; Ashden Karn, Elkhorn.

Coaches: Jason Moore, Omaha Bryan; Jane Elam, Millard South; Thomas Nettleton, Lincoln Southwest.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.