Wingett, Sanger Named Players of the Year

NORFOLK – Among a large group of area standouts, David Wingett and Kelsey Sanger stood out the most. Wingett and Sanger were selected as the respective players of the year in boys and girls basketball in the NCN 35 All-Area Teams which are being released Monday. Wingett averaged 24 points and 10 rebounds a game for Winnebago this year, wrapping up a career which saw him finish in the top five in scoring all-time in the state of Nebraska.

Sanger, meanwhile, averaged 19 points, five rebounds and four assists per game for the Crofton Warriors, and was a key cog in helping Crofton win three state championships over the last four years.



1st Team

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: David Wingett – Winnebago
Tyson Belitz – Neligh-Oakdale
Caleb Gebhardt – Lutheran High Northeast
Logan Strom – Norfolk
Carter Thiele – Oakland-Craig

2nd Team

Lane McCallum – Norfolk
Logan Nordhues – Randolph
Jayden Reifenrath – Laurel-Concord-Coleridge
Caleb Rihanek – Boyd County (The certificate would be sent to Lynch High School)
Garrett Seagren – Oakland-Craig

3rd Team

Payten Gamble – Wayne
D’Von LaPointe – Winnebago
DaJuan Parker – Omaha Nation
Tyler Regan – O’Neill
Alex Thramer – O’Neill


1st Team

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kelsey Sanger – Crofton
Kylie Hammer – Wayne
Dacey Nelson – Oakland-Craig
Monica Arens – Crofton
Sarah Castaneda – Bloomfield

2nd Team

Harlee Fischer – Stuart
Jacie Laetsch – CWC
McKenna Sims – South Sioux City
Madeline Knobbe – Guardian Angels Central Catholic
Carlee Thies – Randolph

3rd Team

Cortney Arkfeld – Wynot
MacKenzie Brandl – Stanton
Kori Fischer – South Sioux City
Stevie Peters – Santee
Carly Sutherland – Pierce

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.